Heritage Park is located on the corner of Chapel Street, Railroad Avenue, and Route 125 in Union, To access the site from Boston and southern New Hampshire, take Route 16 North to the Union/Milton Mills Exit 18. Then turn right and head north about two miles to the first railroad crossing where the station is located. Parking is available at the station, freight house, and Union Hotel (Greater Wakefield Resource Center) up the street. To access Heritage Park from points north of Union, take Route 16 South the traffic lights in Union near the Irving gas station, take a right on Route 125, and within 3/4 mile the station will be visible at the railroad crossing. The park and exhibits are handicapped accessible and parking is available immediately adjacent to the station and freight house.
The museum and gallery at the Heritage Center in Historic Wakefield Corner at 26 Province Lake Road in Sanbornville is open Wednesdays and Saturdays from late June to Columbus Day weekend.
Visit the H/O scale model of the 1909 era Boston & Maine Model Railroad in the restored 1875 Freight House. Heritage Park Railroad Museum is open Saturday and Sundays, noon to 4 p.m.
The Heritage Park Railroad Museum campus, which includes the Union Station, Freight House and 1902 Russell Snow Plow exhibit, a 1950s-era caboose, and, soon, a Boston & Maine Railroad water tower, is open for visitation Saturday and Sunday noon to 4 p.m., from late June through Columbus Day weekend.
Begin your holiday season with family and friends at an Open House on Sunday, Nov. 26, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Heritage Park Railroad Museum in the village of Union. Admission is free.
This special event to be enjoyed by "children of all ages" features tours of the restored 1911 Union Railroad Station housing railroad artifacts and photos depicting the railroad history of Wakefield and the many families who worked with the railroad.
Also included are tours of the 1902 Russell snow plow, a 1950 era Boston & Maine caboose, the newly-restored Boston & Main water tower and the restored 1875 freight house. The freight house contains an operating HO scale model railroad for viewing based on the year 1909 when the Boston & Maine Railroad served the five villages of Wakefield; namely, Union, Sanbornville, Wakefield, East Wakefield, and North Wakefield. Explore the many aspects of the historically accurate model project with its extensively detailed historic structures, steam locomotives, passenger and freight cars, and the many fascinating details amongst the impressive landscaped scenery which includes Moose Mountain.
A new addition to the museum's model railroad is a computer-controlled operating system. While the installation is in its initial stages, the German-produced software program provides prototypical control functions of moving trains. For example, a passenger train stops and departs automatically from railroad stations as it follows its designated route throughout the miniaturized landscape.
Rich Breton, spokesman for the volunteer model railroad hobbyists said the group, representing seven New Hampshire towns, has been working on the railroad diorama for nearly five years.
This special Open House is being held concurrently with the 23rd annual Tour de Chooch. Tour de Chooch is a self-guided tour of 29 model railroads in southeastern New Hampshire and north shore Massachusetts.
In addition to regional visitors interested in trains and history, rail buffs and model train Tour de Chooch visitors from Rhode Island, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, and New Hampshire are expected to participate in the hosted tours and demonstrations. Information about Tour de Chooch can be viewed at www.tourdechooch.org.
Located on Chapel Street in Union, is open by special appointment.
The Wakefield Heritage Commission welcomes you to visit its historic sites during the 2017 season. Most sites open weekends through Columbus Day. Tours for school and community groups and individuals can be arranged by special appointment. Contact the Wakefield Heritage Commission Chair Pam Wiggin at Contact Wakefield Heritage Commission Chair Pam Wiggin at firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Free admission, always.